

Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

DRAFT PROGRAMME

INTERPARLIAMENTARY COMMITTEE MEETING

The Third Reform of the Common European Asylum System - Up for the Challenge -

Tuesday, 28 February 2017, 9.00 to 12.30 and 14.00 to 18.00

European Parliament, Brussels

Room: Joszef Antall (JAN) 6Q2

DV\1118203EN.docx

PE597.690v03-00

Order of business

9h00 - 9h10	Opening remarks by Claude MORAES, Chair of the Committee on
	Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs of the European Parliament

FIRST SESSION

Challenges related to the Common European Asylum System

Chaired by Claude MORAES, LIBE Committee Chair

9.10 - 10.30

9h10 - 9h20	Statement by Hon. Carmelo ABELA, Minister for Home Affairs and National Security, Maltese Presidency of the Council
9h20 - 9h30	Intervention by Dimitris AVRAMOPOULOS , European Commissioner for Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship
9h30 - 10h25	Debate with representatives of NPs and EP
10h25 - 10h30	Conclusions by Claude MORAES, LIBE Committee Chair

SECOND SESSION

Ensuring access to asylum and fair distribution of asylum seekers in the EU Chaired by Cecilia WIKSTRÖM

10.30 - 11.30

10h30 - 10h40	Contribution by Sophie MAGENNIS , UNHCR Bureau for Europe on ensuring access to asylum and fair distribution in the EU: rebuilding trust through better management, partnership and solidarity
10h40 - 10h50	Contribution by Daphné BOUTEILLET-PAQUET , European Council for Refugees and Exiles (ECRE) on the use of an automated system for crisis relocation
10h50-11h00	Contribution by Anastasia CHRISTODOULOPOULOU , 3 rd Vice President of the Hellenic Parliament and member of the Greek Delegation in Parliamentary Assembly of CoE
11h00 - 11h25	Debate with representatives of NPs and EP
11h25 - 11h30	Conclusions by Cecilia WIKSTRÖM

PE597.690v03-00

THIRD SESSION

The safe countries of origin and the safe third country concept

- Experiences from the Member States -

Chaired by Jean LAMBERT

11.30 - 12.30

12h30 - 14h00	Lunch break
12h25 - 12h30	Conclusions by Jean LAMBERT
12h05 - 12h25	Debate with representatives of NPs and EP
11h45 - 12h05	Contribution by two national Parliaments' representatives
11h30 - 11h45	Presentation by Adriano SILVESTRI , European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA) on the safe country of origin concept and different national approaches

3 parallel Workshops 14.00 - 15.20 rooms JAN 6Q2, ASP5E2 and ASP1E2

- 1) Prevention of trafficking in human beings chaired by Cornelia ERNST, MEP. Speaker: **Zoi SAKELLIADOU**, office of the European Anti-Trafficking Coordinator (room JAN 6Q2)
- 2) Administrative Cooperation between Member States authorities under Dublin: what works? chaired by Jeroen LENAERS, MEP. Speakers: **Patricia VAN DE PEER**, Head of Asylum Support Department, EASO, and **Jessica Nilsson-Hälje**, Swedish Migration Agency, Department of Operation, Dublin Unit (room ASP 5E2)
- 3) Legal assistance and alternatives to detention during the asylum procedure: Exchange of good practices from Member States - chaired by Birgit SIPPEL, MEP. Speakers: Christian MOMMERS, Advisor, office of the Commissioner for Human Rights, Council of Europe (CoE) and David Conlan SMYTH, President of the Committee on Migration, Council of Bars and Law Societies of Europe (CCBE) (room ASP 1E2)

Agenda of each Workshop Introduction by the Chair/Co-Chair (5 minutes) Inputs from experts/ NPs (20 minutes) Discussion (50 minutes) Closure by the Chair/Co-chairs (5 minutes)

<u>15.20 - 15.45 Break</u>

FOURTH SESSION

Protection of children in migration

- Experts' and Member States' contributions -

Chaired by Anna Maria CORAZZA BILDT

15.45 - 17.05

15h45 - 15h55	Contribution by Vicenzo BIANCO , Mayor of Catania and rapporteur of the Committee of the Regions on the Reform of the Common European Asylum System
15h55 - 16h05	Contribution on the German approach to the protection of children arriving in the EU, by Martina ERB-KLÜNEMANN , Judge at the District Court Hamm and member of the European Judicial Network in civil and commercial matters (EJN)
16h05 - 16h15	Contribution by Gerard Frans Martin VERSTEGEN , General Manager of the NIDOS Foundation (Dutch guardianship organisation for unaccompanied minor asylum seekers)
16h15-16h25	Contribution by Omid MAHMOUDI , Founder, Ensamkommandes Förbund (Swedish Organisation for Unaccompanied Minors)
16h25- 17h00	Debate with representatives of NP and EP
17h00 - 17h05	Conclusions by Anna Maria CORAZZA BILDT

CLOSING SESSION

Chaired by Claude MORAES, LIBE Committee Chair

17.05 - 18.00

17h05 - 17h25	Recommendations from the Workshops by the Chairs of the Workshops
17h25 - 17h55	"We welcome young refugees" - Voices from the Kraainem Football Club's integration initiative
17h55 - 18h00	Closing remarks by Claude MORAES , LIBE Committee Chair and Chair of the MT Parliament counterpart Committee

• During the discussion, so as to make it possible for the highest number of parliamentarians to intervene, speaking time of speakers will be limited to **ten minutes** and speaking time of other participants to **two minutes** per contribution or question.

• Speakers wishing to supplement their speeches may do so in writing by submitting a document (preferably in English or French) in advance to the secretariat (email: libe-secretariat@europarl.europa.eu). These documents will be circulated during the meeting.

• Meeting documents will be progressively added to the Events section of the LIBE Committee pages: <u>http://www.europarl.europa.eu/committees/en/libe/events-</u> <u>nationalparl.html</u> and to the WebNP event webpage:<u>http://www.europarl.europa.eu/relnatparl/en/meetings.html</u>

THE MEETING IS BROADCASTED LIVE AND RECORDED

LIBE Committee pages:

http://www.europarl.europa.eu/activities/committees/homeCom.do?language=EN&body=LIBE

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION		
Danai PAPADOPOULOU	Elitsa ANDREEVA	
Administrator	Assistant	
Office: SQM 08 Y 046	Office SQM 08 Y 051	
Phone: +32(2)28 4 24 13	Phone: +32(2)28 3 04 41	
Danai.papadopoulou@europarl.europa.eu	elitsa.andreeva@europarl.europa.eu	
Céline CHATEAU	Nicolas Joel DAVID	
Administrator	Assistant	
Office: SQM 08 Y	Office SQM 08 Y 042	
Phone: +32(2)28	Phone: +32(2)28 3 09 39	
celine.chateau@europarl.europa.eu	nicolasjoel.david@europarl.europa.eu	
Erika SCHULZE	Pauline PLEITINX	
Administrator	Assistant	
Office: SQM 08 Y 043	Office SQM 08 Y 048	
Phone: +32(2)28 3 12 45	Phone: +32(2)28 4 63 50	
Erika.schulze@europarl.europa.eu	Pauline.pleitinx@europarl.europa.eu	
Mila ASSENOVA	Kelly MATHIOUDAKI-KOTSOMYTI	

Administrator	Assistant
Office: SQM 08 Y 046	Office SQM 08 Y 048
Phone: +32(2)28 4 24 13	Phone: +32(2)28 4 43 57
mila.assenova@europarl.europa.eu	kelly.mathioudaki@europarl.europa.eu
Angela BALAN	Karen PURINO
Administrator	Assistant
Office: SQM 08 Y 044	Office SQM 08 Y 042
Phone: +32(2)28 3 22 91	Phone: +32(2)28 3 41 66
Angela.Balan@europarl.europa.eu	Karen.purino@europarl.europa.eu
David CHICO ZAMANILLO	Maria del Pilar ALVAREZ ALVAREZ
Adminstrator	Assistant
Office: SQM 08 Y 041	Office: SQM 08 Y 054
Phone: +32(2)28 4 25 83	Phone: +32(2)28 4 24 83
David.Chico@europarl.europa.eu	mariadelpilar.alvarez@europarl.europa.eu

EN