Interparliamentary Conference for the Common Foreign and Security Policy and the Common Security and Defence Policy (CFSP/CSDP)

Thursday, 9 September 2021, 9:00–18:00 (CET) Ljubljana

Videoconference

Draft Programme (as of 1 July 2021)



Thursday, 9 September 2021

- 8:30–9:00 Meeting of the Presidential Troika and the European Parliament
- 9:00–9:15 Opening session:
 - **Ms Monika Gregorčič**, Chair of the Committee on Foreign Policy of the National Assembly of the Republic of Slovenia
 - **Mr Samo Bevk**, Chair of the Committee on Defence of the National Assembly of the Republic of Slovenia
 - **Mr Bojan Kekec**, Chair of the National Council Commission for International Relations and European Affairs
 - **Mr Igor Zorčič**, President of the National Assembly of the Republic of Slovenia
 - **Mr Alojz Kovšca**, President of the National Council of the Republic of Slovenia
 - **Mr David McAllister**, Chair of the European Parliament's Committee on Foreign Affairs
- 9:15–10:00 Address by Mr Borut Pahor, the President of the Republic of Slovenia

Short debate

Chair:

- **Mr Samo Bevk**, Chair of the Committee on Defence of the National Assembly of the Republic of Slovenia
- 10:00–11:30 SESSION I Priorities of the Common Foreign and Security Policy/Common Security and Defence Policy

Chair:

• **Mr David McAllister**, Chair of the European Parliament's Committee on Foreign Affairs

Keynote speaker:

 Mr Josep Borrell, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

Debate

11:30–12:00 Break



12:00–13:30 SESSION II New Challenges, Old Patterns: Rethinking the EU's Foreign Policy Approaches in a Multipolar World

Chair:

• **Ms Monika Gregorčič**, Chair of the Committee on Foreign Policy of the National Assembly of the Republic of Slovenia

Keynote speakers:

- Mr Anže Logar, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Slovenia
- **Mr Janez Lenarčič**, European Commissioner for Crisis Management
- **Mr Stefano Sannino**, Secretary-General of the European External Action Service (EEAS)

Debate

- 13:30–14:30 Lunch break
- 14:30–16:00 SESSION III Enhancing Regional Partnership with Western Balkan Countries through CSDP

Chair:

• **Mr Samo Bevk**, Chair of the Committee on Defence of the National Assembly of the Republic of Slovenia

Co-Chair:

• **Ms Nathalie Loiseau**, Chair of the European Parliament's Subcommittee on Security and Defence

Keynote Speakers:

- Mr Matej Tonin, Minister of Defence of the Republic of Slovenia
- **Mr Marko Makovec**, Director, Deputy Director-General for Western Europe, the Western Balkans, Turkey, and the United Kingdom in the European External Action Service (EEAS)
- Ms Radmila Šekerinska Jankovska, Minister of Defence of the Republic of North Macedonia

Debate



16:00–17:30 SESSION IV Capability Development for the EU's Civil Protection and the Solidarity Clause: Integrating the Military

Chair:

- **Mr Bojan Kekec**, Chair of the National Council Commission for International Relations and European Affairs
- **Co-Chair:**
 - **Ms Nathalie Loiseau**, Chair of the European Parliament's Subcommittee on Security and Defence

Keynote speakers:

- **Mr Hans Das**, Director for Emergency Management and rescEU in the Directorate for European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations (ECHO)
- Mr Srečko Šestan, Civil Protection Commander of the Republic of Slovenia
- **Mr Borut Cesar**, Force Commander of the Slovenian Armed Forces
- **Ms Carolyn Moser**, Head of the BORDERLINES Research Group at the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law

Debate

17:30–18:00 Closing remarks

- **Ms Monika Gregorčič**, Chair of the Committee on Foreign Policy of the National Assembly of the Republic of Slovenia
- **Mr Samo Bevk**, Chair of the Committee on Defence of the National Assembly of the Republic of Slovenia
- **Mr Bojan Kekec**, Chair of the National Council Commission for International Relations and European Affairs
- **Mr David McAllister**, Chair of the European Parliament's Committee on Foreign Affairs

